The Teal Pumpkin Project

Have you heard about this yet?

If not, do you have the internet? (kidding)

A fairly new concept, the Teal Pumpkin project is aimed at helping all children enjoy Halloween. I think this is fantastic. I do not personally have any known food allergies but in the past few years it seems to have either become more common or is becoming more common in children especially.

So what is this project?

It’s pretty simple. In order to include all children you would purchase candy for the children who can have candy and non-food items for the ones who may have some allergy or cannot have candy. This first step was a challenge for me. I love crafting and think it’s important for developing patience and hand-eye coordination and just developing a creative mindset. The next step is almost more than simple, paint a pumpkin teal. This is my first year trying the teal pumpkin project and I still wanted to carve my pumpkin, so I did.unnamed (2)I’m hoping that children and parents can see that it is teal once it grows dark. The awesome thing about the internet is that folks have created signs to print out and post. Since seeing colors in the dark can be challenging, I’m fully prepared for an epic Halloween!

I’m hoping that many people in the area that bring their children out on Halloween will have heard about this great idea. I have awesome treats that aren’t sweets!

Leave a comment