It’s about time!

It seems like I find so many articles on Facebook and I’m usually curious if they’re true. Especially when I found an article about Sesame Street gaining a new character who has autism. I could barely contain my excitement. It seems like so many people in this day don’t know how to react to a child or even adults who have special needs or disabilities. I think it’s going to be amazing to teach children at a young age that people with special needs are different but not in a bad way.

A couple of weeks ago, I was at the pumpkin patch and I guess I should preface this by saying I’ve always

I should preface this by saying I’ve always gotten along well with people who are different or stand out. A couple of weeks ago on a trip to the pumpkin patch (my first time) with some friends, we were watching the pig races. Probably the cutest thing ever! There were families everywhere and possibly more children than adults. I noticed a man with his son sitting in his lap and a possible German Shepard puppy lying under the bench they sat on. The boy, who couldn’t have been older than seven, started making some noise which turned into enough that his mom came over to take him and his service dog to some other part of the pumpkin patch. The boy stood up and didn’t seem like wanted to go anywhere. His dad got him up and I heard him say he would go with his mom and then handed her the leash. I guess it was a special leash because there was a handle or loop closer to the dog and the father put the boy’s arm in it. The boy fussed a bit more as he went off with him mom and other people started to turn around and some stared as they left.

Anyway, back to what I was saying before. I think having a character with autism on Sesame Street is one of the best ideas they’ve had in years. Not only will she help children learn about autism, but she will teach them how to act around someone with special needs and how to treat them.

Leave a Reply

