Let me tell ya ’bout my best friend

kady

This picture is some years old, but so is our friendship. And she’s derpy!

Have you ever met someone who makes you feel less weird? Well this is her.

Making friends has always been an uncomfortable situation for me. Either I like you right off or you annoy me and I walk away, or maybe I just don’t know what to say and get uneasy. I’m really not sure how we met, but I don’t think it even matters anymore. We met when we were 12 oddly enough at church. It was never something she was really into and I thought I needed it. Maybe it’s one of those opposites attract things. As similar as we might seem, we are vastly different in every way. I’m crazy and she’s quiet. We come from completely different backgrounds and lifestyles, but I think that’s a huge part of why we get along. We learn from one another and have built such a strong friendship that I think even if we stopped talking we could pick back up years down the road.

Like any good friendship, we have been through our fair share of shit. Boys, break-ups, going to church and then leaving, living together and then not, and of course things I’ll leave out, but she’s my sister.

I remember when I was in high school, my step mom told me that every four years or so your group of friends will change. I call bullshit. Maybe that applies to acquaintances, but I just don’t believe that you can find someone who balances your crazy with theirs and then that just ends. Not everyone can find friends who you feel at home with or even at home with their family. I think if you’re lucky enough to find a friend or significant other like that, then you hold on for dear life! That’s not just some random person you should pass up. Friendships like relationships take work from both people, sometimes its hard and most times you end up with amazing memories and goofy pictures.

Friends are the family you get to choose, so choose wisely!

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/amy-byrnes/how-to-stay-friends-for-30-years_b_6212018.html

http://www.livescience.com/5466-friends-replaced-7-years.html

Leave a Reply

