The dreaming mind and its wonders.

cat

We all have dreams, for some of us they can be super cryptic. I’ve always wondered what mine meant. In search of an explanation, I started keeping a dream journal and found books to explain the symbols in my dreams and nightmares. The first book I found was basically a dictionary of the possible symbols and what they could possibly mean. Ironically titled: Dream Dictionary for Dummies. Like I previously stated, it reads through like a dictionary. If you had a dream about a dog, you look up dog and it goes through the different possible meanings. However, this book didn’t quite satisfy my thirst for the explanation. I started collecting books about dreams when I found Dream Psychology by Sigmund Freud at the Goodwill I worked at. This is a very long book and written in 1920, but it’s interesting how the symbols can still represent the same things. I would love to one day sit down with something who analyses dreams for a living and have them explain the craziness that happens in my mind at night, alas that will have to wait.

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dream-dictionary-for-dummies-penney-peirce/1102487961?ean=9780470178164

http://www.bartleby.com/288/

Leave a Reply

