Independence is key

“A woman who creates a full, happy life on her own is a lot more inviting than one who looks to a man to create it for her.” -Mandy Hale

inde

I moved out when I was 18, unaware and sheltered from the world around me. I had been going to church since I was 12 and was taught not to trust anyone or anything, “that everything was out to hurt [me].” For the first year or so, I was shell-shocked and learning so many new and scary things. I made a lot of mistakes and learned a lot of valuable life lessons. I would like to think that even though I had no idea what I was getting into, that I’m more independent and knowledgeable of the world than I would have been if I’d staying living at home for a couple more years. I spent a lot of time alone and I firmly believe that if I hadn’t done this, I wouldn’t be able to be alone today. Many of my friends have this idea that to be happy they need someone else. Being independent is the best quality I think I have. Living alone and working and depending only on myself for everything has molded me into a person that doesn’t need anyone else. I choose when I want someone in my life, I choose what to do and how to do it.

Going from the strong, independent girl above to where I am now was one of the most challenging experiences of my life and there is more to go. I moved in with my boyfriend who encouraged me to go back to school. Which I had been considering for a couple of years since hourly work only gets you so far. So for the first time since I was 18, I depend on someone else, but in a respectful way. He supports me in every dream I have(within reason). Having to depend on someone financially is probably one of the biggest struggles I face. I’ve always supported myself, but in order to grow mentally and in my future career, I have to let him help me. He only wants the best for me and is giving me the greatest opportunity in the world. That’s true love people!

I like to think that my independence is helping me in school now. I’m not the insecure girl I once was. If I need help, I ask. If I need anything, I have to ask; and as much as my pride tries to tell me I don’t, occasionally I need help. It’s hard to silence something that has been so strong for so many years, but sometimes, it’s alright to rely on others, just don’t forget who you are!

http://www.sirc.org/publik/financial_independence.shtml

http://www.parents.com/baby/development/sibling-issues/how-birth-order-shapes-personality/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

